Raiders & Tigers Take Top Honours
Date of Event National Indoor Cricket League (NICL): Sun Sep 2, 2018 5:37PM
2018 Beastwear NICL - Men's Winners, Toombul Tigers from South-East Queensland

The Croydon Raiders claim bragging rights in the women’s grand final with a 6-run victory over the Stepney Thunder, while the Toombul Tigers have clawed their way from 4th place in their Zone to winners on the National stage.


Batting first in the women’s grand final, Stepney Thunder duo Katie Rowe (23 runs) and Jess Oldfield (7 runs) had no trouble getting off the mark, with Rowe punching a ball into the back net for 7 in the very first over.


The Thunder were only able to manage three runs from their second batting pair, however strong performances from Tegan McPharlin (19 runs) and Stacey Oates (14 runs) saw the Thunder finish with a total of 79.


Laura Shaw was the pick of the bowlers from the Croydon Raiders, taking three wickets and conceding -3 from her spell.


The Raiders batting was once again consistent, posting a strong first pair partnership of 33 runs through Elly Donald (15 runs) and Deb Loughnan (18 runs) without conceding a wicket.


Partnerships of 18 and 24 runs held the Raiders in good stead leading into the final overs.


A mix up in the final over of the match almost leveled out the game with two balls to spare, but the Raiders managed to hold out a 6-run lead at the end of play.


Captain of the Croydon Raiders, Laura Shaw, was awarded Player of the Match honours for her all-round contribution to the side’s victory.


Winning their respective semi-finals earlier in the day, the Toombul Tigers and Macarthur Raptors took to the court with only one intention – to take home the title of the best men’s club-based indoor cricket team in Australia.


Macarthur Raptors opening pair Ashley Paddison (22 runs) and Greg Connor (7 runs) combined for 29 runs to start proceedings.


However, some tight bowling lines and quick hands in the field kept the Raptors remaining pairs totals to 19, 11 and 9 to finish with a total of 68 runs.


Throughout the run chase, the Toombul Tigers were challenged by the quality bowling attack of the Raptors, but the Tigers wouldn’t go home without putting up a good fight.


Little separated the sides as they reached the final stages of the game, with Toombul sitting on 55 runs and requiring 14 for victory with four overs remaining.


Two wickets from Greg Connor in the 13th over took Toombul Tigers players Andrew Roiko and Rhys Dearness back a step, requiring 18 from three overs.


The experience pair steadied the ship, moving the scoring rate along one ball at a time with finesse to seal victory for Toombul, 73-68.


Roiko lay claim to Player of the Match honours, awarded by umpire of the game, Andrew Hall-Villiers.


Catch the replays of all the action or look back on the 2018 NICL season by visiting the Cricket Australia Indoor Facebook page or the official tournament website,








Semi Final 1 – Toombul Tigers 95 (2) def Seamer Snakes 71 (2)

Semi Final 2 – Macarthur Raptors 62 (3) def Wolves 47 (1)


Grand Final Score – Toombul Tigers 73 (3) def Macarthur Raptors 68 (1)

Player of the Grand Final – Andrew Roiko (Toombul Tigers)

Umpire of the Grand Final – Andrew Hall-Villiers





Grand Final Score – Croydon Raiders 85 (3) def Stepney Thunder 79 (1)

Player of the Grand Final – Laura Shaw (Croydon Raiders)

Umpire of the Grand Final – Andrew Parker

Last updated: Sunday September 2, 2018 5:39PM
Author: Vanessa Lewicki